ERRATA

This section contains the official errata that have been made to individual cards in KeyForge. Errata overides the printed information on the card it applies to.

 

Library Access (COTA 115) Should read: “Play: For the remainder of the turn, each time you play another card, draw a card. Purge Library Access.”

 

Biomatrix Backup (COTA 208) Should read: “This creature gains,”Destroyed: Put this creature into its owner’s archives.””

 

Bait and Switch (COTA 267) Should read: “Play: If your opponent has more A than you, steal 1A. Repeat the preceding effect if your opponent still has more A than you.”

 

Drummernaut (AOA 006) Should read: “Play/Fight/Reap: Return another friendly Giant creature to your hand.”

 

Magda the Rat (COTA 303) Should read: “Elusive. Play: Steal 2A. If Magda the Rat leaves play, your opponent steals 2A.”

 

Yzphyz Knowdrone (AOA 210) Should read: “Play: Archive a card. You may purge an archived card. If you do, stun a creature.”

 

Life for a Life (AOA 273) Should read: “Play: Sacrifice a creature. If you do, deal 6D to a creature.”

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

This section provides answers to a number of common questions that are asked about the game. These questions are presented in a “Question and Answer” format, with the newest questions at the end.

 

My opponent has 14 Æmber in their pool and I have 0 in mine. At the start of my turn I select Shadows as the active house and play the card Bait and Switch (CoTA 267). How many times does Bait and Switch trigger?

In this situation, Bait and Switch’s effect will be triggered 2 times. When the effect is triggered for the first time time it checks if your opponent has more Æmber than you, and if they do it will repeat the first effect again, stealing another Æmber. However, since the card says to repeat the preceding effect and not the whole effect it can only ever trigger twice.

 

Its the first turn of the game and I am going first. I choose house Logos to be the active house and play the card Phase Shift (CoTA 117). Does this allow me to play another card this turn even though the First Turn Rule (see page 5) is in effect?

Playing Phase Shift will allow you to play another card from your hand this turn, since the First Turn Rule can be modified by card effects.

 

Its the first turn of the game and I am going first. I choose house Logos to be the active house and play the card Wild Wormhole (CoTA 125). Can Wild Wormhole’s effect be resolved even though the First Turn Rule (see page 5) is in effect? 

Wild Wormhole’s effect can be resolved. The First Turn Rule specifies that players cannot play or discard more than one card from their hand. However it does not prohibit cards from being played or discarded from other game areas, such as your deck.

 

I have 2 chains and 7 cards in hand when moving to my draw cards step. Will I shed a chain during this step?

No, you will not shed a chain during this draw cards step. Chains are only shed when a player would draw cards during the draw step and the chains prevent them from doing so (see “Chains” on Page 8). Since you already have 7 cards in your hand, you aren’t going to be drawing any cards, and thus don’t lose any of your chains.

 

I have 2 chains and 5 cards in hand when moving to my draw cards step. Will I shed a chain during this step?

Yes, you will shed a chain during this step. Chains are only shed when a player would draw cards during the draw step and the chains prevent them from doing so (see “Chains” on Page 8). You only have 5 cards in hand, and normally you would draw a card to refill your hand. However because of the chains you are prevented from drawing that card. Since you would normally have drawn the card and the chain prevented it, you then shed 1 chain.

 

I have chosen house Logos to be my active house this turn and start off by playing Library Access (CoTA 115), I then play Wild Wormhole (CoTA 125). In what order do I resolve this combination of effects?

When you play a Wild Wormhole after playing a Library Access the following happens in this order: 1. You gain 1 Æmber from Wild Wormhole’s Æmber bonus. 2. Library Access’s effect and Wild Wormhole’s play effect are simultaneous, so you may resolve them in either order. 3. You gain Æmber from any Æmber bonus on the card played from the top of your deck. 4. If there are any play effects on the card played from the top of your deck, they are simultaneous with Library Access’s effect. You may resolve them in either order.

 

I have the card Pitlord (CoTA 093) in play and my opponent plays the card Restringuntus (CoTA 094) and chooses house Dis. What happens when I try to declare my house on my next turn?

On your next turn, during the choose a house step, you will be in a position where you must choose house Dis (because of the Pitlord), but also cannot choose house Dis (because of the Restringuntus). Cannot effects have precedence over must effects, thus you cannot choose Dis. (see “Cannot Vs Must” on Page 9.) You may still choose either one of your other houses though.

 

I have a Faygin (CoTA 300) in play and my opponent has an Urchin (CoTA 315) in play. I reap with Faygin and with its reap effect I choose my opponent’s Urchin. What happens?

Faygin’s effect causes the Urchin to try and go into your hand, however when a card leaves play it always goes to its owner’s corresponding out of play zone (See “Leaves Play” on Page 11) unless the card causing it to leave play specifies otherwise. The Urchin is returned to your opponent’s hand instead of yours.

 

I have 0 Æmber in my Æmber pool and have chosen house Logos to be my active house this turn. I play Wild Wormhole (CoTA 125) and try and play the top card of my deck is Kelifi Dragon (CoTA 037). What happens?

The Kelifi Dragon is returned to the top of the deck. Kelifi Dragon has a play requirement of needing to have 7 Æmber in your Æmber pool, and since you didn’t have any initially (you now have 1 from playing the Wild Wormhole) you don’t have enough to be able to play the Kelifi Dragon. Since you can’t play the card it is returned to the place you tried to play it from, in this case the top of the deck.

 

On my opponent’s turn they use their Yxilo Bolter (CoTA 204) to reap and choose to resolve its reap effect on my Bad Penny (CoTA 296). Is the Bad Penny purged or does it end up back in my hand?

The Bad Penny goes back to your hand. “Destroyed:” effects (see “Destroyed” on Page 10) happen immediately before a creature is destroyed, meaning that Bad Penny is back in its owner’s hand before the Yxilo Bolter can try to purge it with its reap effect. At that point, any pending effects waiting to resolve on Bad Penny no longer do. This is because Bad Penny is moving to an out-of-play zone in which the identity of cards is hidden from the opponent (see “Leaves Play” on Page 11).

 

I have a stunned creature in my battleline, play the card Anger (CoTA 001), and choose to resolve its effect on that stunned creature. What happens?

If a card (such as Anger in this case) allows you to use a creature and if the creature you are trying to use is stunned, you remove the stun instead of doing anything else. Since Fighting is a type of being used the creature is exhausted and the stun counter is removed. This will even work if your opponent has no creatures in play, because unstunning replaces the normal “use” (in this case fight) of the card before it begins.

 

I have chosen house Logos to be my active house this turn and play a Phase Shift (COTA 117) then play another copy of Phase Shift. How many non-Logos cards can I play this turn?

You can play two non-Logos cards this turn. Each copy of Phase Shift that you play allows you to play an additional non-Logos card. I have a Stealer of Souls (CoTA 098) in play and my opponent has a Valdr (CoTA 029).

 

I use my Stealer of Souls to fight Valdr and both creatures are destroyed. Does the Stealer of Souls’ ability trigger?

No, the Stealer of Souls’ ability will not trigger. In order for the Stealer of Souls ability to trigger it must be in play, so if both the Stealer of Souls and the creature it is fighting die, they die simultaneously and the Stealer of Souls ability cannot trigger (see “Destroyed” on Page 10).

 

I have a Combat Pheromones (CoTA 180), “John Smyth” (CoTA 195), and Mindwarper (CoTA 196) in play. I sacrifice the Combat Pheromones and reap with the Mindwarper, and then reap with “John Smyth” and use “John Smyth’s” reap effect to ready the Mindwarper. Can I use the Mindwarper again?

Yes, Combat Pheromones is granting permission to use a creature during that turn. If you have an effect that readies one of the Mars cards affected by the Combat Pheromones (Such as “John Smyth”), you will be able to use that card again.

 

I play King of the Crag (CoTA 038) while my opponent has a Looter Goblin (CoTA 041) in play. What happens?

The rules for damage state that “If a creature has as much or more damage on it as it has power, the creature is destroyed and placed on top of its owner’s discard pile.” When a creature has 0 power, if it has 0 damage on it, it is destroyed.

 

My opponent has a Banner of Battle (CoTA 020) in play. Can I play the card Poltergeist (CoTA 069) to destroy the Banner of Battle, even if the artifact can’t be used?

Yes, you can resolve the effect of Poltergeist on any artifact in play even if the artifact cannot be used. You just resolve as much of the card effect as you can (see “Resolve As Much As You Can” on Page 7), and to resolve this situation you just destroy the artifact.

 

I have no creatures in play and my opponent has two. Can I play the card Lost in the Woods (CoTA 327) even though I don’t have two creatures in play?

Yes you can. The “Resolve As Much As You Can” rule (see Page 7) says that you resolve as much of a card effect as possible and any part of a card you cannot resolve is ignored. In the context of Lost in the Woods, it means that you shuffle in as many of the creatures as you can. So in the case that your opponent has two or more creatures in their battleline and you have none, you will shuffle in two enemy creatures and no friendly creatures.

 

I have an exhausted Bumpsy (CoTA 030) in play and my opponent has no creatures in their battleline. I play the card Anger (CoTA 001) and choose to resolve it on Bumpsy. What happens?

The Bumpsy will be readied by the effect of Anger, but since there are no enemy creatures in play it cannot be used to fight so it stays ready. The creature can then be used as per the standard rules.

 

I control a Spangler Box (CoTA 132) that has purged my own Kelifi Dragon (CoTA 037). The Spangler Box is returned to its owner’s hand with Grasping Vines (CoTA 324), but I don’t have any Æmber. Do I get my Kelifi Dragon back?

Yes. The Kelifi Dragon is not being played when it is returned by the Spangler Box, it is being put into play. Being put into play bypasses the normal play restrictions, meaning that the Kelifi Dragon is put back into play no matter how much Æmber you have.

 

I play Smaaash (CoTA 046), but each of my opponent’s creatures is already stunned. Do I have to resolve the effect against Smaaash itself?

No. You may still choose to resolve Smaaash’s “Play:” effect against one of your opponent’s creatures, however you cannot put a stun counter on an already stunned creature so nothing will happen.

 

My opponent puts two of my creatures into their archives using the card Sample Collection (CoTA 175). On my next turn I play the card Dysania (CoTA 141). What happens?

Playing the Dysania will cause each of your opponent’s archived cards to be discarded, however since the Sample Collection states that when these creatures leave the archives they are put into their owner’s hand instead these cards are returned to your hand. Since these cards were not discarded by Dysania’s effect, you will not gain any Æmber from the resolution of that effect.

 

I have Shadow Self (CoTA 310) with a Raiding Knight (CoTA 255) as a neighbor. My Raiding Knight is then attacked by a 4 power creature. How much damage does each creature take in this situation?

In this case, the Shadow Self will take 2 damage, the Raiding Knight will take no damage, and the 4 power creature will take 4 damage and be destroyed. This happens because before the damage can be dealt to the Raiding Knight, two of it is prevented by its armor. Then when the damage is actually being dealt, the damage that would be dealt to the Raiding Knight is dealt to the Shadow Self instead. At the same time as the Shadow Self is being dealt damage, the 4 power creature takes 4 damage from the Raiding Knight’s power. 

 

I have a maverick Pitlord (CoTA 093) in play in a deck without house Dis. Am I forced to choose house Dis as my active house?

No. You cannot choose an active house unless it is on your identity card or you control a card of that house. This restriction overrides Pitlord’s effect, allowing you to choose any of your houses as your active house.

 

What happens if I use Spectral Tunneler (CoTA 133) on a non-flank creature (causing it to be considered a flank creature), then play Positron Bolt (CoTA 118) on that creature?

Positron Bolt will deal 3 damage to that creature. You will choose one of that creature’s neighbors to deal 2 damage to, and then deal 1 damage to the other neighbor of that second creature.

 

If I use Gabos Longarms (CoTA 86) to attack a creature without elusive, can I use Gabos’s “Before Fight” ability to deal damage to an elusive creature instead, or will the elusive keyword prevent the damage?

Gabos Longarms can deal damage to an elusive creature using its ability. The elusive ability prevents damage only when the creature is attacked— because Gabos is not actually attacking the elusive creature, the elusive keyword will not protect it.

 

What happens if I use Replicator (CoTA 150) to trigger the reap effect of an opponent’s Sanctum Guardian (CoTA 256)?

Sanctum Guardian’s reap effect will do nothing. A creature cannot be moved from one player’s battleline to the other player’s battleline except by effects that explicitly change control of that creature.

 

If I play Mimicry (CoTA 328) as a copy of an action card in my opponent’s discard pile, which card does the Rule of Six apply to?

For the purposes of the Rule of Six, you are considered to have played the copied card.

 

I have Grasping Vines (CoTA 324) under Masterplan (CoTA 288). If I use Masterplan’s “Omni” effect to play Grasping Vines, can I return Masterplan to my hand before it is sacrificed?

Yes. Masterplan’s effect allows you to play the card beneath it before sacrificing Masterplan. Masterplan is still in play at the time you play Grasping Vines, and therefore can be returned to your hand using Grasping Vines’s effect.

 

If Duma the Martyr (CoTA 242) and another of my creatures are both destroyed by a damage effect like Poison Wave (CoTA 280), can Duma the Martyr save my other creature from destruction?

No. If the damage causes Duma the Martyr and your other creature to both be tagged for destruction, healing that creature afterwards will not prevent its destruction.

 

If a card like Gateway to Dis (CoTA 59) destroys multiple creatures and Tolas (CoTA 103) is one of those creatures, does anyone gain Æmber off of Tolas’ ability?

No. Tolas’ ability does not trigger until cards are actually put into discard piles, at which point Tolas is already destroyed.

 

If I have out a Tolas (CoTA 103) when my Bad Penny (CoTA 296) is destroyed, do I gain Æmber even if Bad Penny goes to my hand instead of my discard pile?

Yes. Cards still count as being destroyed even if their “Destroyed:” effect moves them out of play.

 

 I use my Hallowed Shield (AoA 218) to protect my Maruck the Marked (AoA 220) from damage and then I attack my opponent’s 3-power creature. Do I capture an Æember with Maruck’s ability?

No. Protection effects like Hallowed Shield prevent damage before armor. Maruck still has 1 armor left after the fight.

 

If my Jargoggle (AoA 131) is destroyed on my turn and its “Destroyed:” ability lets me play a card with Omega, can I still play cards afterwards?

Not usually. If Jargoggle was destroyed during your Step 3 you may not play or use any more cards—just finish triggering any more triggered effects and then move on to the next step. If Jargoggle was destroyed during your Step 1, however (for example, because you forged a key while Strange Gizmo (CoTA 134) was out), you only move on to Step 2, where you may then choose your house and move on to Step 3, where you are allowed to play and use cards again as normal.

 

I have Pingle Who Annoys (CoTA 43) and my opponent plays King of the Crag (CoTA 38). Will King of the Crag take a damage before Pingle is destroyed?

No. Because King of the Crag’s ability is a constant, its effect applies as long as it’s in play and destroys Pingle before Pingle’s “after it enters play” effect can trigger.

 

If I have a 2-power creature with a Soulkeeper (AoA 83) attached, my opponent has a 6-power creature and a 5-power creature, and I play Opal Knight (AoA 260), do both of my opponent’s creatures die, or just the 6-power one?

Just the 6-power one. Since Soulkeeper’s effect triggers before the destroyed creatures actually leave play, it will target the 6-power creature for destruction even though that creature is already tagged for destruction.

 

I have 2 Æmber in my pool and I reap with a creature. My opponent has 2 Sir Marrows (AoA 223) in play. Do both Sir Marrows capture an Æmber, and if so, where does the second one come from?

Sir Marrows can only capture the 1 Æmber that was just gained from reaping. The active player determines which Sir Marrows captures the Æmber.

 

A Scowly Caper (AoA 313) that I own and my opponent controls is purged with Spangler Box (CoTA 132). Later, the Spangler Box is destroyed. When Scowly Caper returns to play, whose control will he be under?

When the Spangler Box returns Scowly Caper to play, this counts as “entering play” again, so Scowly Caper’s ability again causes you put it into play under your opponent’s control.

 

I play the card Sack of Coins (AoA 312) with 3 Æmber in my pool. Can I divide the 3 damage among multiple creatures?

Yes. Because Sack of Coins deals 1 damage “for each” Æmber in your pool, each point of damage may be assigned to a different creature.

 

I play the card Nerve Blast (CoTA 276) while my opponent has 2 Æmber in their pool and controls a Po’s Pixies (AoA 362). Am I able to deal 2 damage with Nerve Blast’s effect?

Yes. Po’s Pixies has a replacement effect that changes where the stolen Æmber is taken from (the common supply instead of its controller’s pool). However, that Æmber is still considered to be “stolen,” and therefore the “if you do” condition of Nerve Blast has been satisfied. 

 

I reap with Nexus (CoTA 305), which allows me to use an opponent’s artifact “as if it were” mine. I choose to use my opponent’s Shard of Greed (AoA 315), which lets me gain 1 Æmber “for each friendly Shard.” Shard of Greed is the only Shard in play. How much Æmber do I gain?

1. You are using Shard of Greed as if it were yours, so Shard of Greed counts itself as a friendly Shard for the purposes of its ability.

 

I reap with Nexus (CoTA 305), and use my opponent’s Spectral Tunneler (CoTA 133) to give Nexus the ability “Reap: Draw a card.” Can I then trigger that “Reap” ability?

Yes. You are still at the timing point to trigger Nexus’s “Reap” abilities, so it can now trigger the ability granted by Spectral Tunneler.

 

I reap with Replicator (CoTA 150), and use its ability to trigger the reap effect of my opponent’s Sequis (CoTA 257) as if I controlled it. Which player’s pool does Sequis capture Æmber from?

Sequis captures 1 Æmber from your opponent’s pool. You are using Sequis as if you controlled it, so the default capture rules cause the Æmber to be captured from your opponent’s pool.

 

My opponent has Sir Marrows (AoA 223) in play. If I play Dimension Door (CoTA 108) and then reap with a creature, does Sir Marrows capture the Æmber from the creature reaping?

No, in this case the effect of gaining the Æmber from reaping is being replaced by stealing Æmber from your opponent. This means that you aren’t getting Æmber directly from the reap and your opponent’s Sir Marrows will not be able to capture it.

 

My opponent forges two keys on their turn. On my next turn, I play Key Hammer (CoTA 66). What happens?

Key Hammer only affects a single key. You will choose one of the two keys your opponent forged on their previous turn and unforge it.

 

I choose Logos as my active house. I play Phase Shift (CoTA 117), then play a Mimicry (CoTA 328) as a copy of Foggify (CoTA 110). Can I still play another non-Logos card using Phase Shift’s effect?

No. Phase Shift grants you permission to play 1 non-Logos card this turn. Playing Mimicry uses up this effect, as you would not have been able to play Mimicry without Phase Shift’s effect

 

Can I play Mimicry (CoTA 328) as a copy of Eureka (AoA 128) if I have already played another card this turn?

No. If Mimicry is played as a copy of Eureka, it will have the alpha keyword. Since you have already played another card this turn, you are not able to play an alpha card this turn and so the Mimicry will not be played and will go back to your hand instead.

 

Can I play Mimicry (CoTA 328) as a copy of Eureka (AoA 128) as the first thing I do during step 3 of my turn?

Yes. Mimicry is being played as a copy of Eureka and will have the Alpha keyword. Since you haven’t done anything else (played a card, discarded a card, or used a card) this turn you can still play the alpha card.

 

My opponent has 10 Æmber and is about to forge their second key. I play Interdimensional Graft (CoTA 112). My opponent has Forgemaster Og (AoA 38) in play. On their turn they forge a key for 6 Æmber. What happens to their remaining 4 Æmber?

The effect of Interdimensional Graft and Forgemaster Og both occur at the same time step (after the key is forged), so the active player (your opponent) chooses which to resolve first. 

 

My Gabos Longarms (CoTA 86) attacks my opponent’s Æmber Imp (AoA 53). Is Gabos Longarms’ damage prevented by Elusive, or can I deal that damage to another creature?

You may still deal Gabos Longarms’ damage to another creature. Elusive only prevents damage dealt to the creature with the elusive ability during the fight.

 

My opponent plays Shadow of Dis (AoA 103), forcing me to treat my creatures’ text boxes as if they were blank until their next turn. I play Silvertooth (CoTA 311). Does Silvertooth enter play ready?

Yes. Shadow of Dis only affects creatures while they are in play. Silvertooth’s ability modifies how it enters play, so it is in effect before the Shadow of Dis effect applies to it.

 

My opponent plays Shadow of Dis (AoA 103). I have two copies of Glimmer (AoA 323) in my hand. May I play them both?

No. Alpha is a play restriction that is active while in your hand before playing the card. After you have played a card in a step, you may not play an Alpha card even if its text box will be considered blank once it is in play.

 

My opponent plays Shadow of Dis (AoA 103). I have a Duskwitch (AoA 320) in my hand. May I play Duskwitch, then play other cards afterwards?

Yes, you can continue to play, use, and discard cards after playing Duskwitch. Omega is an effect that occurs after a card is played. By that point, Duskwitch is in play and under the effect of Shadow of Dis, meaning it no longer has the Omega ability.

 

I have a Ronnie Wristclocks (AoA 276) next to a Little Niff (AoA 289). I attack one of my opponent’s creatures with Ronnie Wristclocks, but he is destroyed during the fight. Does Little Niff’s ability still allow me to steal 1 Æmber?

Yes. Little Niff’s neighbor does not need to survive in order for Little Niff to steal the Æmber.

 

My opponent has two creatures in play and I have none. I play Neutron Shark (CoTA 146) and use its play effect to destroy an enemy creature as well as the Neutron Shark. If the top card of my deck does not belong to house Logos, can I repeat Neutron Shark’s ability and destroy my opponent’s other creature?

No. The destruction of Neutron Shark and the first enemy creature resolves fully before you proceed with the rest of Neutron Shark’s ability. Because Neutron Shark is no longer in play, its Play/Fight/Reap ability is no longer active and cannot be triggered again.

When does the ability of the Encounter Suit (WC 330) trigger?

Encounter Suit’s ability occurs after an action card is played and its Æmber bonus is resolved, at the same timing point as other effects that occur “after” an action card is played. However, the active player must trigger Encounter Suit’s effect before triggering the “Play:” effect on that action card.

©2020 by Crazy Killing Machine Network. Proudly created with Wix.com